To Run or Not to Run

Yesterday evening I wound up going for a run on the treadmill even though I was extremely tired. I ran 4 miles mostly up hills, and quicker than I usually go. It made me feel better about myself and I think I slept better because of it.

Today my eating was only okay, mostly because I got off track with our free lunch at the therio club’s meeting today. I have a really hard time passing up free food, especially being as poor as I am at the moment. For breakfast I had my standard cookie dough cereal, and then I had a venti skinny peppermint latte on the way to school (I’m poor, but I just can’t kick my Starbucks habit). For lunch we had Jason’s Deli, and I had half a turkey on rye with mustard and lettuce. I also had a couple of pickles and some Ruffles potato chips (this was the worst). Dinner was a macaroni and broccoli steamer bag which was surprisingly tasty for 250 calories. I also had a hummus cup and baby carrots, and a tablespoon of cashew butter for a snack.

I haven’t decided if I’m going running tonight yet. The obsessive part of me wants to run every day, just to stick with the habit. I like the consistency of running every day. Another part of me knows that it is unrealistic and unhealthy to run every day, and I know that to avoid injury I should take days off and/or do something different. Maybe I’ll dig out my Jillian Michaels workout video.

Today at school was the first time we practiced palpating mares with ultrasound. I felt really comfortable with identifying structures, and the ultrasound helped give me extra confidence. I didn’t really have any trouble holding it, which I guess can be a problem, and it confirmed for me that the structures I’ve been palpating are correct. I think I palpated around 9 mares today, which is pretty good considering we only made it through 2 the first day. My mare count for this rotation is up to 29 :)

This afternoon we had to collect all the teaching stallions. Two of them are going to be used for breeding so we needed their semen for artificial insemination. The other four are going to be used for a research project and just have to be cleaned out every day this week prior to beginning the study. I collected three of the boys today, which as I said on Monday, makes me super nervous. While it wasn’t exactly the smoothest process, I managed to get them all collected on the first try. I still don’t think I’m going to ever want to collect stallions regularly in the future. My lack of experience with them makes me especially uncomfortable working with them in the breeding shed.

I don’t really have any plans for tonight, although some of my friends are trying to put together a karaoke date for sometime this week. Hopefully I’ll have some more exciting things to talk about soon… right now it’s just school, meals, sleep, repeat.

Leave a Reply

