Crossfit vs. Jillian Michaels

Okay, I may have spoken too soon. This morning we went out and palpated a large number of mares again, but these were current broodmares, not maidens. Their tracts are larger and, based on my experience from Tuesday, should have been easier to find. I was struggling. I had a really hard time ultrasounding these mares for some reason. I did get to breed three of them again, and I felt pretty confident about two of them. The third I think I lost some because I wasn’t quite through the cervix.

I wound up doing the Jillian Michaels 30 day shred video last night. It took about 20 minutes and I stuck to level one since it’s been a while and I didn’t quite remember the routine. I used 8lb dumbbells, which are usually my moderate weight for stuff like this. It went fine except for the front raises which were pretty difficult at this weight so I just dropped them and did it empty handed. My 5’s were in the other room so I didn’t have them to grab, but I think I will next time. I also got tired during the shoulder press but I managed those with just a few dropped reps.

I ordered two more cheap Jillian Michaels videos from Amazon to use at home. I kind of feel that working out at home is what I need right now, it just seems to fit my schedule and lifestyle. I haven’t really talked about it yet, but I broke up with Crossfit in January. I paid out my membership through February and am not renewing for the next billing cycle.

Crossfit and I never really got along. Working out is not just a physical thing for me, it’s also a good time for me to relax mentally and de-stress. I definitely get a lot of stress relief from running, and Crossfit made me so sore and took up so much of my time that it interfered with my running schedule. I also feel like I have enough competition in the other parts of my life that I don’t need my workout time to also always be a competition. I know they say you’re not supposed to focus on the other people or “compete” with them, but come on, it’s timed for goodness sake. And what about all those Crossfit competitions? Mmhmm.

So anyway, my current lifestyle means running is my favorite and preferred method of exercise. I’ve been thinking that need some weight training too though, so that I don’t get all flabby like I used to be when I was only running. I also think it’s good for me to build strength since I have a pretty active job that requires me to have some physical abilities. Hopefully some of these videos will fill the gap in my training schedule.

I’ll be back later with my meals for the day and what I’ve been up to this afternoon.

Leave a Reply

