My affair with roasted broccoli

Today’s eats have been kind of crazy… and bad…

Breakfast – 2T cashew butter

Snack – Venti skinny peppermint latte

Lunch – Bacon and egg taquito from Whataburger with coffee

Snack – Fiber One oats and chocolate bar

Dinner – Salad with olives and light honey mustard, roasted broccoli, 5 slices turkey bacon, 2T cashew butter

Snack – small handful dark chocolate chips

We stopped at Whataburger after palpating mares this morning, and it was only about 10am so I got breakfast food. Our clinician is obsessed with Whataburger so apparently he likes to stop there on a daily basis. I planned poorly and was caught unawares, but I got a fairly low calorie (for Whataburger) item to tide me over. I started with the veggies for dinner and didn’t know what I really wanted so I settled for turkey bacon as my protein. Not great, but I have a ton of it in my fridge that needs to be eaten.

This afternoon when I got home I went out and groomed both ponies. I had to help remind my young mare that she actually does have manners even though the rain and my schedule have kept me from riding them for the past couple weeks :(

Afterwards I went for a 3 mile run, beginning at 5.5mph and ending at 6.3mph, much quicker than I usually run. I’m still pushing myself to increase my speed on the treadmill since I’m feeling pretty out of shape.

Last thoughts for the evening… roasted broccoli. I’m going to give you my not so secret recipe for the best broccoli, probably best vegetable, and maybe even best side dish you’ve ever eaten. I love broccoli, and after finding this recipe I have gone through ridiculous amounts of broccoli ever since. I literally buy those 4-5lb jumbo bags of broccoli at the grocery store and will eat my way through a couple of them a week.

If that’s not enough to convince you, here’s more proof that this is the best broccoli recipe ever. My boyfriend, who probably has the least healthy diet I’ve ever seen will snarf down giant plates of this broccoli. This is the boy who eats fast food as often as possible, and lives on pizza, chips and ice cream (incidentally he also still manages to weigh less than me even at 6’4″). Still not good enough? Our DOGS love this broccoli. My dog and my boyfriend’s dog will literally sit in front of me and drool waiting for me to toss them pieces of broccoli. And they don’t do that for any other kind of food. I promise, if you try it you will fall in love. It just takes a little patience and a lot of frozen broccoli :)

Image

Roasted Broccoli

  • Frozen broccoli florets
  • Pam nonstick spray
  • Sea salt
  • Ground cayenne pepper

Preheat oven to 400*F. Lightly spray large baking pan with Pam. Spread frozen broccoli on pan, making sure to keep them only one layer thick. If you pile up your broccoli they will not cook properly and may be soggy. Lightly spray broccoli with Pam. This keeps them from burning. Sprinkle with sea salt and cayenne pepper. I use a lot of both because I love salt and spicy foods. You can use as much or as little as you want, or you can mix it up and try other spices. I’ve used smoked paprika before when I was out of cayenne and it came out fabulous as well. Bake in oven for 45-60 minutes. The first time you cook this broccoli you have to watch it carefully to see how it does in your oven. In my oven it takes approximately 45 minutes for the broccoli to get crispy on the edges. That is what you want, crispy edges on your broccoli, but not overly burned. A little bit of char is what makes them extremely tasty, but totally black is just plain burnt. Serve plain or even with a little sugar free ketchup (my favorite!).

Leave a Reply

