I’m going on an adventure!

Okay, as an ongoing attempt to keep to my budget, I am going to try and institute a weekly meal plan. Here are my meals for the week, mostly incorporating ingredients that I already have in my pantry.

Breakfast Tacos: egg whites, spinach leaves, black beans, salsa, whole wheat tortilla

Taco Salad: salsa, Greek yogurt, chili powder, baby spinach, black olives, corn, black beans

Mediterranean Pita: whole wheat pita, hummus, feta, black olives, mixed greens

Grilled Cheddar N’ Apple: whole grain bread, sharp cheddar cheese, green apple, deli mustard

Black Bean Wrap: whole wheat tortilla, black beans, cumin, paprika, cheddar cheese, salsa

Fancy Fig Sandwich: brie or feta, honey, lemon zest, fig preserves, whole wheat bread, basil

I am so excited, they all sounded delicious. I got all of these recipes/ideas from the Greatist blog and adapted them to my particular tastes and preferences. For example I can’t stand the taste of goat cheese, to me it tastes like I licked a goat. So I subbed it out for brie :)

I’m going to hit the grocery store tomorrow afternoon and see if I can’t get all of these ingredients within my budget. I guess one thing I need to consider is that I’m going to be leaving for Kentucky on Thursday so I only need to plan meals through Wednesday. So that brings up another exciting topic…

I'm Going on an Adventure!

Okay, I realize that there is a typo in this meme, which really irks the spelling Nazi in me. However, I think it perfectly sums up my feelings about traveling in general. This Thursday I am heading out on an adventure!!! My boyfriend and I are going up to Kentucky to search for a house, let him interview for some jobs, and look at some stables where we might keep the ponies. I am SO. EXCITED. I’ve been kind of in denial of our mini vacation so that I can be somewhat productive, but all I want to do is jump up and down and scream “I’m going on an adventure!” like a little kid. Yes, I am five years old.

Do you get irrationally excited when you travel? And do you think goat cheese tastes like stinky goats?

(P.S. Baby goats are adorable, I am not hating on goats in general. I just don’t like their smelly cheese.)

Leave a Reply

