Cakes & eggs

I’m back home from my whirlwind weekend visiting my boyfriend and making puppies!

This morning we got up fairly early to have breakfast with one of my school friends at Magnolia Pancake Haus.

20130324-222730.jpg

It’s difficult to order something healthy at a PANCAKE house, but I attempted to get a healthy option by ordering whole wheat pancakes and scrambled eggs. I also went very light on the butter and syrup, just getting enough to flavor the pancakes. They were delicious! I would expect no less from a restaurant that has been on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives.

After breakfast my boyfriend and I made a quick stop at The Container Store for a little window shopping. If we ever get engaged we are for sure going to have a registry there. I love getting things organized! We also found this awesome desk that I would love to put in our new house.

20130324-223837.jpg

I love it! And it’s super small so it would be easy to fit it anywhere. The only problem is that the three pieces together cost a little over $400, which is way more than we have to spend on a new minimalist desk at the moment. Hopefully someone will buy it for us at some point? Graduation is coming up… ;)

When we got done browsing, we headed back to my boyfriend’s house. We got the male dog out and bred the two dogs one more time before I began the four hour drive home. We were planning on dropping TC off at his house on the way, but were unable to get in touch with his owner so we wound up bringing him with us. My boyfriend will be heading back (we’re both driving all over the place!) on Tuesday and will drop TC off then. Since we’ll have him an extra couple of days we’ll see if we can’t get the doggies to breed one more time before he leaves.

While I was waiting for my boyfriend to get to my house (he left a few hours behind me), I did one of my new Jillian Michaels workout videos. I hadn’t done this one yet, it’s called Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism.

20130324-232621.jpg

It’s about 40 minutes long, which is twice as long as the 30 day shred video’s workouts. This one, however, is all cardio. There are a couple movements that incorporate strength (planks, squats) but the majority is just to get your heart rate up. I actually didn’t find most of it to be as difficult as the 30 day shred video, I guess because my running background makes me halfway decent at cardio? I don’t know. It was still pretty hard and I was red and sweating by the end.

I also started meal planning for the week. Breakfasts will be fruit smoothies made with bananas, frozen fruit and almond milk (zero points!) or Lara bars if I’m running late. Lunch will be pasta salads, I made nine servings tonight which are 6 points each. They’re made with whole wheat pasta, mixed vegetables (mostly broccoli), Lima beans and light balsamic vinaigrette. I bagged each serving up individually so they’ll be easy to take on the road this week. Planned snacks include 100 calorie packs of almonds and walnuts, apples, and cheese sticks. Dinners include a couple of lean cuisines for when I’m feeling lazy and Jamie Eason’s turkey muffins, likely made with lean ground beef since I have a couple pounds of it in my freezer.

Hopefully I will be able to stick to my plan this week!

Leave a Reply

