Good news, bad news

Okay guys. Do you want the good news first, or the bad news first?

Bad news? Great. Let’s just rip this band-aid right off.

My eating has been out of control.I’m not just talking about a little unhealthy eating now and then. It’s been terrible binging every night for the past couple of months. I will eat an entire bag of chips, an entire tub of hummus, an entire bag of tortillas… I can’t feel full. I know that I’ve gained weight, I feel awful, and I don’t have energy to work out. I feel completely out of control. So, I’m going to fess up to everything here.

I am getting my life back in order. This afternoon I went to the grocery store and stocked up on healthy food. I ran three miles on the treadmill. I am working on cleaning my house, and I am prepping food for the next couple of days (who says you have to prep on Monday?). Here are my meals from today:

  • Breakfast: Whole wheat bagel with a very light spread of cream cheese, applesauce, and a coffee
  • Lunch: Tomato soup and applesauce
  • Snack: Veggie chips, string cheese
  • Dinner: Lean cuisine and pineapple

Not the greatest start to the day, the bagel was unplanned, but otherwise not terrible. And I’m trying to keep busy this evening so that I don’t eat anything else tonight. How do you guys do it? How did I used to do it? Why am I so freaking hungry all the time???

Are you ready for the good news? Because I want to stop talking about the bad stuff.

My boyfriend and I were talking a couple nights ago, and he busted out with, “I’ll make you a deal.” I was like, okay? A deal about what? He said that if I can wait until we’re moved and settled in our new house (which we’re still searching for, by the way), we can go ring shopping. Eeek!!!

This is the first real commitment he’s made to me about the future since we started dating three years ago. I am so excited.

Since I know absolutely nothing about what I would like in an engagement ring, I have been scouring websites for ideas. When I spoke with my boyfriend yesterday, his first question was, “Have you picked out a ring yet?” Aaaaah!!! Is this real life? I need help, any advice you guys have got about engagement rings. I am super indecisive, and I have terrible buyer’s remorse, so I am terrified about trying to pick a ring that we are going to spend thousands of dollars on. So far, all I have been able to do is send him pictures of giant rings as a joke since I really don’t know what I want. Here’s the one I sent to him yesterday:

Image

David Yurman <3

Let me know if you have any thoughts or ideas!

One thought on “Good news, bad news

  1. Oh i loved ring shopping!!!! Definitely go look in some stores and try different styles on. What i thought i wanted ended up not looking right on my hands. Also, some stores (like zales) will swap stones with other pieces. So if you see a particularly brilliant stone on a pendant, but want it in a ring setting, they can swap it. And don’t just look for the stone shape, metal color you want. find an overall setting you love and then they can change the stone shape or white gold vs. yellow gold vs. something else to match what you ultimately want. try designing something on shaneco.com. Also, get one of those “the 4 C’s of diamond shopping” brochures; should be free at the jeweler’s. they help you understand a little about what makes an awesome ring and what makes a not-so-sparkly one. Shop around for good prices, and you may be able to get a better price if you do the dave ramsey method and take cash and say “ok look, this is what i have to pay.” Sometimes the clerks do have some leeway with that and are more likely to work with you if you can pay on the spot. They do want their commission, after all. Best of luck and i hope you love it!!!

Leave a Reply

