Squishy little pancake shoes

I survived my first week as an intern! Actually, I’ve had a lot of time to do my own stuff this week because I’m not really practicing yet, I’m just shadowing the other doctors. So what have I been doing in my free time?

I’ve gone out to ride my horses most days this week, which has been really nice. I’m in the process of trying to set up lessons with the trainer next door, and I’m really hoping we can work something out so that I can start making real progress with my baby horse. I rode her around noon today, and she was pretty crooked which took a long time for me to work through. She’s still young and doesn’t always respond properly to cues so it can be really frustrating at times, and I’m looking forward to having some experienced outside input to help me with her.

I’ve also been exercising like a fiend this week. I’m stepping up my weight training by following a fitness model’s strength workouts, found here. I’ve done every workout this week, only modifying a few exercises or leaving out one or two that I was unable to do based on the equipment at my gym. I’m not going to lie, I have been really sore. I did the heavy legs workout this morning, and I’m really worried that I might have overdone and will be in excruciating pain in the coming days. We shall see.

I’ve also stepped up my running again. My fiance and I used to run together all the time, and even trained for a marathon together two years ago. He wound up wimping out on me and we didn’t complete our last training run or the race (although I should have just sucked it up and run without him). Anyway, we have started running together again this week. Unfortunately our first run together came two days after my first legs day of weight training, so needless to say I was at the peak of soreness. My fiance, who hasn’t run in over six months, totally smoked me. We got back from our run and I was so unreasonably angry at him for running better than I did, when I’m the one who works out and runs all the time. I had to just suck it up and plan to do better next time.

Last night, we went for another run together and I did a lot better. I started out kind of slow, but as the run wore on I started to feel more in the zone. We’re still getting used to our new neighborhood, and we haven’t been planning out our routes so that we can explore when we are out on our runs. This meant that last night we took a path that accidentally took us really far away from our house. We wound up running a 6.6 mile loop when we intended to run more like 3-4 miles. I was thankful because it forced me to run farther than I would have otherwise. Around mile 4 my fiance quit running and decided to walk back, and I ran back alone, got some water and then went out to pick him up. 

So… speaking of running, I have kind of been roped into joining a running team at work. The welcome memo about me that went out to the whole hospital earlier this week mentioned that I was a runner, and I’ve had four or five people approach me about joining the running team since then. They lost a runner for a race that’s coming up in October, so I’m going to take her place.

Image

The Bourbon Chase is one of those crazy 200 mile runs, where your team drives along in vans while one runner runs at a time. Each runner runs 3 legs of the race, with the total mileage being anywhere from 11 to 19 miles per person. I’m excited to be involved, and I think it will be a really fun way to connect with people at work.

In the spirit of improved running, I bought new running shoes this week! I love my hot pink Asics, and they have served me well for the past year. Unfortunately I have worn them down to squishy little pancake shoes, so it was time for a new pair. I got online to look at new running shoes, and saw that Asics have come out with the new Gel Nimbus 15, the next generation of the shoes I currently have.

I have run in many different brands and styles of sneakers over the years, and the only ones that work for me, my feet and my running style are Asics, specifically the Gel Nimbus line. Every year or so I’ve replaced my Asics with the next generation of the same shoe, and fortunately they have always released the new ones right around the time I’m ready for them. This doesn’t mean Asics are right for everyone, I’m just saying you need to do your research when looking for running shoes and find ones that work for your feet and your body. I cannot stress enough the importance of being fitted for shoes at a legit running shoe store. Everyone’s biomechanics are different, and they can help you find shoes that work for you. I have really high arches, I tend to supinate rather than pronate so I don’t require huge amounts of support, I like cushioning for longer runs, and I like a relatively large toe box. My Asics fit all of those requirements for me. Of course I was also super excited when I saw the color choices, being a total colorful sneaker freak :)

Image

photo 1(1)

Aren’t they pretty? I love them and I can’t wait to go running in them! I just love the way new running shoes feel!

My final addition to this random post for today is a recipe that I made this morning. I wanted something tasty for breakfast, and I’ve been dying for some corn casserole, so even though it was breakfast time and even though I didn’t have all the ingredients I went for it.

Accidental Corn Casserole

Accidental Corn Casserole

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups bread flour
  • 3 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup skim milk
  • 15.25 oz can sweet yellow corn, drained
  • 14.75 oz can sweet corn cream style
  • 4 oz light sour cream
  • 1/4 cup Brummel and Brown spread made with yogurt
  • cooking spray

Directions: Preheat oven to 350F. Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl. Spray an 8×8″ baking dish (I used a Pyrex dish) with nonstick cooking spray. Pour batter into baking dish. Cook on 350F for 55 minutes. Check center of casserole with a knife before removing from the oven, knife should come out clean.

This casserole was surprisingly delicious for being thrown together from what I had lying around the kitchen! I hope you enjoy it and let me know if you try the recipe!

Leave a Reply

