One step forward, two steps back

This weekend I was able to assist with a castration clinic at the hospital. I met the group of interns and externs who were participating at 9:30am at the sport horse facility, where the horses were being unloaded for the clinic. Due to some last minute cancellations, we only wound up with 5 horses for the day, but it was still a good opportunity to do some low-cost castrations for a local rescue organization.

When I showed up it was immediately obvious that there were going to be way too many people present for everyone to actually assist with the procedures. We had five or six interns present, at least that many externs, a couple of high school students, and two or three clinicians wandering through and assisting where needed. I wasn’t scheduled to perform any of the procedures, but my internmate wound up letting me cut half of one of her colts so I got to do a little bit of surgery. We laid the colts out on the grass near the sport horse arena, and left them in lateral with their hind leg tied up for the procedure. The horses were only down for about 20-25 minutes for the procedure, and then recovered easily and headed home.

Today I rode with one of the field service interns while she did her daily rounds. I helped with some foal diarrhea treatments (antibiotics) and also was able to observe on some quick nasopharynx/larynx endoscopies for the upcoming Fasig-Tipton sale in July. It was a fun day, and wound up being a good chance to get to know another one of the people that I will be working with this year, since the intern I rode with will be staying on as an associate.

After work I headed to the barn and got in a ride on my baby horse. She did pretty well today, although it always kind of seems like it’s one step forward, two steps back with her. I think tomorrow will be a day off for her and I’ll take the old man out for a ride. I also want to run by the tack store to pick up a couple of things for her, like a new halter (she’s currently wearing Teddy’s) and maybe some girly pink stuff :)

I’ll leave you with a photo my dad sent me yesterday, from way back in the day. I’ll be back tomorrow with an update on the art project my fiance and I have been working on all weekend.

Old riding photo

Leave a Reply

