Pure Barre: Review

Hey friends!

Today I attended my first Pure Barre class. A couple of the doctors at my hospital take PB classes and look fantastic, so I had to check out what all the hype was about.

Before heading to a class, I searched online to see what to wear. Lululemon seems to be the order of the day, which is fine by me. I wore yoga pants and a long tank top and pretty much fit in with the rest of the class, clothing-wise.

IMG_0076

From there it kind of went downhill. The women in this class were teeny. I would like to think that this is a result of their PB workouts, but I have a hunch that most of them were extremely thin to begin with. I was by far the largest girl in the room, which was a bit upsetting.

The class started with a coordinated aerobic warm up to up-tempo music. As I usually avoid step classes and aerobics classes like the plague due to my complete lack of incoordination, I immediately felt awkward and uncomfortable. The warm-up also failed to truly get my heart rate up, as it was really just some fancy kicks and marching in place. The workout progressed to ballet-inspired squats, crunches, bicep curls and stretches. The majority of the time I didn’t know what was going on and had to watch the other girls in the class to see what I should do.

The class did go by relatively quickly, and I was feeling the burn with most of the movements. Unfortunately the burn stopped as soon as I left class… I’ll let you know if I wind up sore tomorrow.

Even though it wasn’t really my cup of tea, I think I will return for more Pure Barre classes because the “results” (i.e. the bodies of the girls in my class) kind of speak for themselves.

Thoughts? Anyone out there ever tried a Pure Barre class?

4 thoughts on “Pure Barre: Review

  1. I took a PB class once and it wasn’t really my thing either. I’m a dressage rider and thought that it would help with posture and muscle tone, but felt a lot of the same things that you did. I was also the biggest girl in the class… and I’m really not a big person either. I didn’t stick with it, since it was expensive and I didn’t really like the way that the other girls in the class made me feel. Crossfit was much more my style, if I’m going to spend money. :)

  2. I have no experience with or comments on the workout, but i do want to say that you are always very pretty in the pictures you post, and you do not look like you should ever feel bad about yourself or your weight. :) being healthy and fit is good, but you shouldn’t focus on weight so much. You are already very pretty and will make a beautiful bride. :)

Leave a Reply

