KHP, ponies and date night!

Today is officially my second solo day as the show vet on grounds for the Kentucky Horse Park. My last show shift was on Friday and was totally uneventful. Being the on grounds vet means I have to be at the park during my shift for any emergencies that may arise, or any other veterinary work or questions that people may have. In the meantime, I get to wander the horse park, watch the classes, shop in the vendor row, and catch up on some reading.

Reese came to keep me company:

20130804-081537.jpg

She was not very impressed.

My shift on Friday was in the afternoon, so I headed to the barn early to get the horses ridden before work. I took Teddy to the farm next door, and we jumped around the couple of fences they had set up in their riding ring. It was the first time I had jumped Teddy in probably over a year and it felt fantastic. I was so encouraged.

We have a big head-to-head grudge match coming up, where the two big equine hospitals in the area compete over a course of 3′-3’3″ fences. Each hospital sends a team of 6 horses and riders, and I would love to be able to do it with Teddy this year.

After jumping Teds, I tacked up Zoe and took her next door as well. I dropped all of the jumps to cross rails, and she jumped around an entire course of cross rails like she knew what she was doing! I was so proud of her for getting her act together.

Yesterday I slept in a little and then headed to my 3rd Pure Barre class. This one was taught by a different instructor, and though the workout seemed a bit more difficult than the previous two, I didn’t like her teaching style or her music mix quite as much. The jury is still out on whether or not I’m going to see the super fast changes Pure Barre claims to be able to make on your body, but I think it’s only fair to give them the full 10 classes they say it takes to see a big difference.

After my class I drove to the barn to do some flatwork with each horse. They were both pretty good, although Zoe did get stressed when there were 4-5 horses in the arena. I don’t think she’s ever been ridden with other horses, so she got pretty distracted and nervous. I managed to get her to focus a little bit and then ended on a good note with her for the day.

Yesterday evening was date night for me and my fiancé. We went out to the Movie Tavern for dinner and to see Despicable Me 2. Both the movie and the food were pretty good. I don’t really think animated movies are my fiancé’s thing, but I enjoyed it :)

Hope everyone is having a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

