A Midsummer Night’s 5K and the last of the Pony Moms

Oh my goodness!

Pony finals are finally over, and I feel like its been a crazy whirlwind of ponies, pony moms, and small children! (Think Dance Moms, but with ponies.)

20130812-092331.jpg

20130812-092358.jpg

I have never done so many pre-purchase exams in my life! I also don’t think I’ve ever seen so many of these:

20130812-092545.jpg

Apparently the pigtail bows are all the rage right now with the under 12 set.

We saw quite a few lame ponies, and I was also able to attend part of the pony auction on Saturday night. It was probably the most dramatic thing I have ever seen in my life. When the first pony sold, her tiny now-former owner ran out and hugged the pony, bawling her eyes out. Another pony in the sale had just finished up with team silver at Young Riders this year, and his owner stood with all of their ribbons and awards silently crying her eyes out while her pony was bid on. It was awful.

After the auction on Saturday night, my fiancé, some of the other interns and I went and ran the Midsummer Night’s 5K in downtown Lexington.

20130812-093615.jpg

In theory the group of us was going to run together, but that quickly fell apart as we all have very different paces. My fiancé even left me, sprinting ahead to finish almost an entire minute faster. I finished up in 25:53, which is about an 8:20 mile. I was okay with my time (let’s be honest, I always wish I was faster), and it was better than we’ve been doing on our training runs.

So right now we’re in pretty serious training for the Bourbon Chase, which is coming up in October. I’ve also currently been participating in a challenge at Pure Barre, to complete 10 classes in 11 days. It was only 50 dollars, and since a normal class is 20 it was too good a deal to pass up.

I think I’m on my 7th or 8th class now. They say it takes 10 to see a change, so the jury is still out, for now. I’ll be sure to keep you updated though.

That’s all for now! :)

Leave a Reply

