Hello and Goodbye

Hey everyone! It’s been a little while!

I’m currently on my medicine rotation and I am loving it so far. It’s nice to feel like a real doctor sometimes ;)

Since I started my medicine rotation on Monday, I have managed several cases including an impaction colic, a colitis, a post-op small intestinal volvulus, and a fever of unknown origin, as well as several outpatients that have just come in for the day. Medicine also acquired a new little friend to take care of the mouse problem:

ImageHe’s already a favorite, as well as being a little terror.

ImageA couple of the field interns and I neutered him today during a moment of free time. He’s still recovering this evening, but he should be back to his usual antics soon!

On a more somber note, I received some awful news on Monday morning. My 19 year old gelding unexpectedly passed away over night for an unknown reason. I was called that morning by the barn manager who found him in the stall. My fiance and I went over to take care of things, and we both agree that we think he had some sort of major cardiovascular event like an aneurysm or heart attack. I suppose it’s probably the best way he could have gone and I’m thankful that I didn’t have to make any tough decisions, but it was so unexpected that I have just been reeling from the shock of it all.

I’ll miss him more than anyone will ever know, and I’m sure I’ll never have another horse like him.

ImageRIP Teddy, 1994-2013.

One thought on “Hello and Goodbye

  1. Congrats on your new job and all the animals you are able to help now. I’ve been following your blog for a few months now, I think you caught my attention when you had posted to mine or something. When I went to check out your own blog I was pleasantly surprised to see how much it matched my own dream job I had wanted when younger. Like a lot of little girls I always wanted to be the vet and be around horses/stables and animals in general as much as possible, alas, not in my cards. These blogs are great like that though, its a blast to see it work out for you. Thanks for sharing your journey.

    I’m very sorry for the loss of your handsome, Teddy.

    He reminds me a little of one of my favourites “Sam” I rode at a stables back in the 80’s.

Leave a Reply

